US Capitol Violence

37 petitions

Update posted 3 hours ago

Petition to Mitch McConnell, Charles E. Schumer, Mitt Romney, Chuck Grassley, Marco Rubio, Tim Scott, Rick Scott, Shelley Moore Capito, John Cornyn, James E. Risch, Roy Blunt, John Boozman, Mike Braun, Richard Burr, Bill Cassidy, Tom Cotton, Kevin Cramer, Steve Daines, Joni Ernst, Deb Fischer, Lindsey Graham, Cindy Hyde-Smith, James M. Inhofe, James Lankford, Mike Lee, Lisa Murkowski, Rob Portman, Mike Rounds, Richard C. Shelby, Dan Sullivan, Roger F. Wicker, Todd Young

Tell Sen. McConnell to strip Cruz (R-TX) and Hawley (R-MO) of their committee assignments.

Senator McConnell, Today you gave an impassioned speech in the well of the Senate asking for the members of your caucus to respect the will of the states, to respect the will of the people, and to respect the sanctity of law. You asked for your members to be part of the unity to bring our country back together during a painful and difficult year. You pleaded with your caucus to respect both “we the people” as well as respect your wishes as their leader. Two of your members stand out as Senators who neither respect you and your leadership nor the will of the States, Senator Ted Cruz (R-TX) and Senator Josh Hawley (R-MO). Based on the fact that they clearly have no respect for the will of the States and the people who represent them, as a result of their disrespect of you and your request to preserve our democracy, as a result of the chaos and lawlessness that they spurned that placed capital police, Members of Congress, and their staff in danger and fear, based on their disrespect for their oath to protect and defend the Constitution and what it represents, our Democracy, we request that in the 117th Congress you strip these two Senators of their committee assignments.  These members have disrespected our nation and no longer deserve to sit in any committee in any position of authority until they can prove once again that they respect the people and the government that those seats represent. Remove Senator Cruz and Hawley from all committee assignments!

Vets for America
719 supporters
Update posted 20 hours ago

Petition to Elected officials and heads of law enforcement in Amador County

Amador County Officials Must Denounce Insurrection at US Capitol Building

On January 6, 2021, a violent insurrection against our government occurred at the United States Capitol complex in Washington, DC. These events have shaken many citizens of this country to their core. Thousands of insurrectionists traveled to our nation's capitol from throughout our nation at the specific request and invitation of President Donald Trump. Fueled by his lies and half-truths, and encouraged by President Trump himself, many of these citizens violently attacked the US Capitol building. Blood was shed. Lives were lost. As the Secret Service, Federal Bureau of Investigation, and Department of Homeland Security continue to investigate the events of the siege, one disturbing fact has been brought to light - some insurgents were members of city councils, county supervisors, law enforcement officers, military members, and others in which the public has placed their ultimate trust. Amador County citizens deserve the right to know, without doubt, their elected officials and key leaders of law enforcement publicly denounce the violence and hatred perpetrated against our nation on January 6, 2021, and support our United States Constitution. Together, we now call upon our elected officials and heads of each law enforcement agency in Amador County, California, to immediately take the following actions: 1) Publicly denounce and condemn the violent insurrection at the United States Capitol on January 6, 2021. 2) Publicly state President-elect Joe Biden and Vice President-elect Kamala Harris are in-fact the legitimate winners of the 2020 US Presidential election, and have won their election honestly and fairly. 3) Publicly state that you, in your capacity as an elected official or head of a law enforcement agency in Amador County, shall take no action in your PERSONAL capacity, to support, encourage, aid or abet any person or group which desires to overturn the results of the 2020 Presidential Election. 4) Publicly state that you, in your OFFICIAL capacity as an elected official or head of a law enforcement agency in Amador County, shall take no action to support, encourage, aid or abet any person or group which desires to overturn the results of the 2020 Presidential Election. Furthermore, notwithstanding the rights of citizens to peaceably protest and speak freely, within your OFFICIAL capacity, you agree to take immediate action, if needed, to properly report or investigate persons or groups desiring to overturn the results of the 2020 Presidential Election, including those who may attempt, by their words or actions, to incite violence of any type within Amador County. 5) For those serving as elected officials, at the start of your next public meeting, we ask that you hold a moment of silence in tribute to US Capitol police officer Brian Sicknick, who gave his life in service to our country by helping protect our United States Congress members, staff, fellow officers, and many others from harm on January 6, 2021. If, in your personal or elected capacity, you refuse to offer these public statements, clearly assuring our citizens of your support for the rule of law and our United States Constitution, we do hereby request you immediately submit your resignation from the public office or position which you hold.                    Respectfully signed,                    - The honorable citizens of Amador County, California.

Citizens of Amador County, California
59 supporters